Liebster Award!

Ramona at Red Lipstick, Black Budget nominated me for a Liebster Award – thanks so much for the shoutout! The award is passed around to small/new blogs to help people find new bloggers that they might want to read.

The rules are:

1. Link back to the person who nominated you.
2. Answer the questions given to you by the nominator.
3. Nominate up to 11 other bloggers with fewer than 200 followers.
4. Create 11 questions for the nominees.
5. Notify all nominees via social media/blogs.

Here are my answers:

1.What is your favourite thing to spend money on?

Travelling! I will never turn down an opportunity to go on a trip (although I’ll usually look for cheap ways to do it, like staying with friends or having a long layover). I set aside about $200/month for trips … and I’m currently a little over for the first eight months of the year.

2. What do you think you spend money on the most?

I try to keep my discretionary spending really low when it’s not on something big, like a trip (so far this month, 88 percent of my spending has been on things like rent/bills/groceries, I’m quite proud of that). A big part of this for me has been learning to really appreciate that stuff – having a friend over to eat a meal I cooked from scratch, drink some wine and catch up on my porch is super cheap and usually just as fun as going out, if not more.

3. Where was your favourite place that you’ve traveled to and/or where do you want to visit the most?

The coolest, most random place was probably Herrang – a tiny town about two hours north of Stockholm that hosts a six-week swing dancing camp each summer. I got to spend a week there in 2011. It was amazing and I can’t wait to have a chance to go back!

4. How do you stay motivated to write on your blog often?

Seeing as I haven’t blogged in almost three weeks … for me, blog posts come from things that I learn (I just started making my own granola bars, so that’s coming up), conversations that I have with my friends, and my own realizations. Sometimes I spend weeks just chugging along – paying my bills, working, hanging out with my friends, trying to save and still have fun – and on those weeks I end up not writing too much.

5. What is your biggest goal that you want to achieve in the next 5 years?

I want to write a book! Also to find a job that I am excited to go to every morning. Any tips on how to do that?

6. If any, what is your favourite piece of makeup?

I probably wear makeup less than half the time, and when I do I stick to the bare-bones. Maybe because I’m lazy or I never actually learned how to properly use it.

7. What are your thoughts on frugality and what are your best advice to achieve it?

Well I could go on about this for a long time, seeing as that’s the whole point of my blog 🙂 In a nutshell: Figure out what really matters to you. Only spend on that. I don’t think that frugality is a means of limiting yourself – for me it’s really all about giving myself more options. Choosing to buy a new mixer from the thrift store rather than Target doesn’t stop it from being totally functional. Going out for a drink with a friend is no less fun than going out for a full-on meal.

I try to limit my spending by asking myself what my real goal is. For example, I basically never buy books. I love books, but when I buy books the goal is to read them, not to own them. I can achieve the same thing by reading books from the library – with the added benefit that I don’t have to store and transport them!

8. What is your go to joke?

I love puns. Anything punny. One of my college roommates was an English major and far too sophisticated for puns, so we stuck this to her door. I loved it. Actually I still love it.

9. How do you stay positive when everything seems to be going wrong, or at least not the way you wanted?

I try to pay attention to all the things that are going so well in my life. Just the fact that I’m healthy, safe, have locing friends and family, have never had to worry about where my next meal was coming from, haven’t experienced much major tragedy in my life … gratitude has become a big part of my personal life philosophy and while I of course always wish things were better, it helps me to recognize that the way things are now is pretty darn amazing.

10. What is your favourite meal/recipe to cook?

I’ve been getting way more into cooking in the last year or so, and more than having any go-to I really like finding new recipes (Supercook is an awesome resource for this, if you haven’t used it. You enter all the ingredients you have and it finds recipes you can make) and trying them out. I’m still in the process of widening my cooking range, but it’s always fun to succeed at something new. Last night I used my (thrift store) crockpot for the first time and it was awesome!

11. What is an experience that changed your life for the better?

Oh man. I’ll be stereotypical and just say my college experience – I really came out the other end of it as a person I liked much better than I went in. I think the growth and lessons from there, as well as the people I met, contributed hugely to whatever moderate “success” I have today and that’ll probably become even more obvious as time goes by.

Nominees:

  1. The 9 to 5 Wanderer – I love how you embrace adventure within the full-time-worker-bee life!
  2. Social Endeavor – Your pictures are lovely, and you are an inspiration!
  3. From Frugal to Free – I love reading about how all your hard work is paying off – and you put a lot of what I believe in into words in a great way.

Questions:

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What’s your most popular post? Why do you think it’s so popular?
  3. What have you learned how to do in the last year that’s improved your life?
  4. What do you never regret spending on?
  5. What’s your biggest goal for the next year?
  6. What’s a book you’ve read recently and loved?
  7. If you didn’t have to work for a living, how would you spend your time?
  8. Where’s your favorite place that you’ve lived?
  9. If you could time travel, where/when would you go?
  10. How do you take your coffee?

Thanks for the nomination!

One thought on “Liebster Award!

  1. the9to5wanderer says:

    I’m somehow just seeing this, thanks for the nomination!! Love your blog, and loved learning more about you through your answers to these questions, what a fun idea 🙂 I shall have to cook up my own post shortly!

    Like

Leave a Reply

