Stacking Twenties: With Coffee!

Usually, I drink the coffee at work five days a week. It’s unlimited, it’s pretty good, and it’s free! Yesterday, though, it hit 95 degrees and my annual craving for cold coffee hit.

But I’m not talking watery, bitter, weak drip coffee over ice – I could’ve made that at work, I guess. Last year, when I was living in Minneapolis, I developed an obsession with cold press. It’s sweet and strong and ridiculously delicious … and for some odd reason way more popular in the Midwest than out here, where coffee shops always look at me like I’m a crazy person when I order it.

Being both a) Desperate for that glass of caffeinated joy and b) A cheapskate, I started Googling. Turns out, making your own is really simple!

I'm so fancy

I’m so fancy.

I went to World Market after work and grabbed a $20 French press. Back at home, I threw in 1.5 cups of ground coffee and 3 cups of water and stuck it in the fridge. Then, because I wanted to make coffee-shop-equivalent cold brew, I brewed up some simple syrup (equal parts water and sugar) and put it in a fancy jar. There should be enough in there to last me a while, because who has time to boil water every morning before work? Not me, that’s for sure.

Then I went to bed. Or more accurately, watched Netflix, read a book, and told myself I should exercise but didn’t. Then I went to bed.

This morning, I pressed the coffee (thinking to myself “This is so simple! Why did I always think a French press was so fancy? I love this thing!”), poured it into my travel mug, added syrup and milk (whole milk because … why not?), and proceeded to guzzle it with joy. I’ll be drinking a LOT of this for the next few months.

What’s your favorite coffee drink? Do you know how to make it at home?

8 thoughts on “Stacking Twenties: With Coffee!

  1. the9to5wanderer says:

    I definitely need to get into the habit of doing this- nice job making the switch early in the summer! I’m the same, although a tea drinker, and I love a good iced chai latte in the summer, which is not so easy to make with the office kettle and costs nearly $4 at Starbucks!! Those add up fast. I’m going to start searching around the internet for a good home brew version 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Stacking Twenties says:

      Oooh – iced chai is delicious. I bet you can find a pretty simple way to make one at home! I love finding things where 5 minutes of work (easier than stopping by Starbucks, honestly) can save you 90% of the price!

      Like

  2. Howto$tuffYourPig says:

    I love making my own iced coffee! It saves a lot of money when you make it yourself. I don’t care for the hot method though. I take 1 cup of strong coffee granules and pour it in a container with 4 cups of water. I wait 8 hours or so and then strain it through some coffee filters. It makes the perfect iced coffee concentrate! I measure 1/2 cup of coffee to 1/2 cup of water and add sweetened cream. It’s the best! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Generation YRA says:

    I’m so happy I read this! I absolutely love cold brew & cold press coffee but I haven’t ventured to making it myself yet. Typically in the mornings I make black coffee with coconut oil or unsweetened coconut milk. With the weather heating up, it’s about time I try making cold brew at home!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

