Stacking Twenties: At the Library

Libraries are probably the single greatest money-saving tool in existence.

They are seriously amazing.

If you are not having a love affair with your local library, that’s a problem.

Personally, I’m a big fan of reading, and I vastly prefer hard copies to e-readers. And I rarely want to read a book more than once. I do love having books around my house, but it doesn’t make sense to me to purchase them just to keep around as decoration, so I suspect I will never have the gorgeous home library of my interior-decorating dreams. Oh well.

Can you think of any place other than the library where you can pick out whatever you want and take it home for free? They have movies, magazines, access to printers and scanners if you need them, music … and of course more books than you could read in three lifetimes.

They may not have that new-book smell that you get at a bookstore, but the sheer excitement of knowing I can take home as many as I can carry more than makes up for it. Plus, you don’t have to worry about storing or moving them! The library is basically The Cloud for books, and you can always check a novel out again if you want to reread it.

I try to limit my book purchases to things I know will take me way too long to get through, like War and Peace, which I’ve been reading for a year and a half now. No library wants you to renew something that many times.

Do you frequent your local library?

11 thoughts on “Stacking Twenties: At the Library

  1. Lindsay says:

    I never in my life thought of the library as a money saving tool but you’re absolutely right. I spend a lot of time at this adorable used bookstore because it’s way closer to my apartment than the public library. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jackswift83 says:

    This is a good idea. I had a list of 30 things I want to do before I turn 30 (I’m now 31) and one of those things was to own and read 300 books. In hindsight, that was quite an expensive endeavour.

    Like

  3. Tim M says:

    For those not located near a library, local coffee shops often have a leave/take book collection.

    Our local library also allows you to borrow framed paintings for two months at a time. Can’t beat the library.

    Like

Leave a Reply

