Stacking Twenties: With hummus

Fact: Hummus is delicious.
Fact: Hummus is expensive. Usually I see it for around $5/container.
Fact: The suggested serving size is a lie. There are not eight servings in there. There are two. Maybe three.

The easiest way to save money in the kitchen is by making things from scratch, but that can be super overwhelming. Start with just one item that you usually buy premade: I picked hummus.

Hummus is super easy to make, there are probably only two ingredients that you really, honestly need to create super-basic, acceptable hummus: chickpeas (also called garbanzo beans) and olive oil.

I add lemon juice, pepper, and garlic (you’re supposed to roast the garlic, but I just chop it up in small pieces and call it fine). You can add literally anything you want: spices, red peppers, some people even add avocado. Yum!

Technically, you’re supposed to put tahini in there, but I didn’t have any tahini, so I didn’t. It still tastes good.

You’re also supposed to peel the chickpeas to make the hummus nice and smooth, but that sounded like it would take forever, so I didn’t. It still tastes good.

I don’t know that I would even consider this a recipe, but here are some guidelines to making hummus that will save you money and impress your friends:

Pour can of chickpeas into food processor (I don’t have one, so I used a blender, that works too)
Add olive oil (About 1/4 cup, I sort of just pour it in, blend, and add more as needed)
Chop up a clove or two of garlic and throw that in there
Pour in some lemon juice, maybe about a tablespoon. You could also squeeze a lemon if you have one on hand. Lime might be good too. Or skip it.
Add some pepper.
Add whatever else you feel like.
Blend until smooth.

See what I mean about being lazy in the kitchen? This will yield about 12 oz. of hummus (assuming you’re using a 12 oz. can of chickpeas) for maybe $1 – again, depending on how much you spend on said can. That’s a 75% savings, and if you like hummus as much as I do, it’s more than worth the minimal effort.

Do you make your own hummus? Are there other things you always make from scratch?

5 thoughts on “Stacking Twenties: With hummus

  1. Crafty Coin says:

    I so agree! I always make foods from scratch. It’s almost always cheaper and you can be confident about the ingredients you’re using. I love to make my own trail mix, cashew flour, and I’ll even cut my own carrots instead buying baby ones. I love to save money! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

